Security Council


The Security Council’s main responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. It meets whenever peace is threatened and is the only entity with the mandate to take obligating actions on member states.

When solving disputes, it pursues peaceful mechanisms such as mutual agreements and cooperation; nevertheless, it has the power to enforce economic measures, financial penalties, and arms embargoes. The Security Council focuses on achieving peace and stability with minimal negative repercussions on the international community. The Security Council consists of ten nonpermanent members for two-year term (elected by the UN General Assembly) and five permanent members.

Delegates interacting in this organ should take into consideration its powerful role in terms of decision-making and the leadership position it enjoys in pursuing international peace and stability.